Its more than just a pageant…

Well in this new year I have embarked on two frightening and unfamiliar practices. The first being blogging and the second; Pageant Preparation. I am not sure which is more daunting  the blogging or the pageant preps. So often I begin typing and I experience writers block or at times that self critique that has me second guessing my writing. I have decided that whatever comes to mind goes on paper and soon enough I will get into the swing of things and not have to cringe at the idea of updating my blog.

I have somehow got myself hooked on random reality shows most of which are purely entertaining and some of which are slightly perturbing. One such show is “Little Miss Perfect” on one of my favorite channels \”WeTV\”. I took particular interest in this show due to its pageant theme. After a couple of shows I found myself being on the fence on how I felt about the idea of parading infants and toddlers on a stage.

On one end of the spectrum I am all for building confidence in little girls and encouraging them at an early age to have a healthy self-esteem but I doubt “Little Miss Perfect”, is the best route. The aim of pageants(at least in my view) is to promote talent, poise, intelligence, scholarship, resourcefulness and social and cultural consciousness. Somehow this show seems to glorify the very notion that feminists have argued the purpose of pageants was for; pure decadence, flamboyance and vanity. In most of the episodes you find mothers pushing their children to do these pageants and holding toddlers to ridiculous standards. It tends to come across as though these mothers are living their pageantry dreams vicariously through their unsuspecting innocent children.

It can be argued that the little girls want to do it but really has the mind of a 5-year old matured to a point where it can distinguish and assert what it wants. Unfortunately a mother’s opinion will always almost trump that of a child. They are in a way channeled into the pageant world and then somehow it becomes a part of their being which in the future could haunt them. Five year olds are better off playing with dolls and having tea parties, jumping from tree to tree and rolling in the mud. There is more substance to learning how to sound out consonants and vowels and not how to strut their stuff on a stage. A braided pony-tail is best suited for tiny tot rather than having to learn how to balance hair extensions and wigs bigger than their heads. The only color palette a five-year old should be concerned about is their crayola wax crayon box and not their mac make-up palette.

Every little girl deserves to be a princess and wear a pretty beaded dress with sparkles, however there should be no definition of what a princess looks like to earn that title. I fear shows such as “Little Miss Perfect”, are avenues to create social monsters too concerned about their looks who end being victims of their physical appearance, and that this puts tremendous pressure on women to “be beautiful”.

Overall kudos to the little girls on holding their own and am sure some of the most amazing Beauty Queens out there started from shows like “Little Miss Perfect”. I have so much respect for the work that mothers put in and as in all things human some form of balance must be reached. With that I must head off to sleep, dark circles under eyes are not a good look.

Leave a Reply

