Now is Pivotal…

Ever had the genius idea to write a novel? Or are you a self-made chef who has been playing around with the idea of opening that Afro-themed Italian cuisine restaurant? Do you lay awake at night imagining your garments being featured on New York’s fashion week but just have not gotten about to sewing the first one? Are you an encyclopedia of ideas waiting to be harvested into realities? If you answered YES to any of the above questions, PLEASE DIAL 1-800….lol not just yet.

The average individual hardly ever lives up to their full potential. Most of the time people are so caught up in the fear of failure that after dissecting everything that could go wrong there is no room left to believe anything could be right. Granted we are not all made to be rock stars, fashion gurus, politicians BEAUTY QUEENS etc but surely we should live our lives to the fullest. When was the last time you went to bed feeling like you had reached your full potential for the day and when was the last time you woke up in the morning feeling like P.Diddy? [I just had to..but lo I digress]. My mother has always said that graveyards are the wealthiest places because therein lies dreams that were never made realities, ideas that were never shared and opportunities that were never siezed.

While reading a magazine today- a BUSINESS journal might Iadd, I came across an ad and at the bottom read “Now is Pivotal.”

NOW????????
NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
yea.....NOW...
Ooooops wrong blog....
Oops wrong blog...

Obviously the context in which it was used in the ad is different from the point am trying to drive home but for a brief moment it had me thinking…much so that it inspired a photo shoot; pictures available ON DEMAND. NOW IS PIVOTAL….hmmmm I thought to myself. Now is important, now is critical, essential, paramount. Basically the decisions and the choices we make will be the prologue to our future. I started panicking because I had just mowed down a hot brownie topped with pecan ice-cream and smothered in chocolate sauce- then I thought now is pivotal? Oh no have I just opened a door to unprecedented eating habits that could lead to excessive weight gain? Just before I had a hissy fit I had to draw myself back to reality. Though enjoying my desert may not be absolutely detrimental to my being, some actions that seem mild and innocent can be. This cuts across the board, whether its decisions concerning your health, finances, relationships or your spiritual life one bad turn can lead to a multitude of burdens.

Without being the prophet of doom I think we all need to begin thinking more about the things we do NOW and how they will affect us tomorrow. If you have been contemplating doing anything NOW is the time to get it. If you had on your list of New Years resolutions that this would be the year you would take a dance class don’t wait another second NOW is the time to sign up. NOW is the time to put to paper your profound business idea, NOW is the time to implement it. NOW is the time to end that bad habit. NOW is the time to start training for that marathon.

Before I start sounding like a motivational speaker NOW is the time for me to sleep. But remember:

“Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate.

Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure…

…Your playing small does not serve the world.

There’s nothing enlightened about shrinking

so that other people won’t feel insecure around you.”- Marianne Williamson

15 thoughts on “Now is Pivotal…

  1. Loved the last bit, the barage of NOWs really struck something within me. Not sure what it’s affecting, but had me look at my life, and all it’s little elements that need one of them NOWs,…..now! Keep em coming, kiddo.

  2. I (so) relate to this. It’s exactly how I am feeling – like I have to get up and stop thinking that tomorrow will come with all my dreams gift-wrapped, ready to be unpacked. So, I’ve been shaking things up in my life, pushing myself a little further than I usually do, trying new things and getting rid of some (bad) old habits…I am not sure where this new road is leading but I feel you – now is pivotal.

    Now, let me stop procrastinating and get some work done.

    Much love!!!

  3. Guess what, am ceasing the day, had my first poetry recital in Dubai yesterday. Was always afraid that the crowd would be different and not understand me, but guess what..its ok if they dont understand 🙂 so yeah, its starts with you.

  4. i think about this all the time….and seem to arrive at the same spot i started. All the ideas i have are saturating my brain, all we all need is that silver platter in the form of a phone from a director, publisher or fashion designer in search for new talent.
    But ur right…NOW IS PIVOTAL!!!!!!

    Nice Ndi.

  5. awesome! we should all cut out the word failure from our dictionaries and vocabulary. Because the only real failure is the one we acknowledge. I’m motivated to never expect less than the best of myself. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

